• I have no need for religion, I have a conscience.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 39 other followers

  • Truth Saves
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Atheist Quotes

    I have something to say to the religionist who feels atheists never say anything positive: You are an intelligent human being. Your life is valuable for its own sake. You are not second-class in the universe, deriving meaning and purpose from some other mind. You are not inherently evil--you are inherently human, possessing the positive rational potential to help make this a world of morality, peace and joy. Trust yourself.
    Dan Barker

    He that will not reason is a bigot; he that cannot reason is a fool; he that dares not reason is a slave.
    William Drummond

    The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully.
    Richard Dawkins

  • Blog Visitors

    • 233,873 hits

Atheism

Metaphysical naturalism

I am asked quite a few questions about my atheism and I figured some theists here might have the same questions. So theists, this ones for you.

First and most often asked is why don’t I believe in god?

There is no evidence. I mean scientific evidence not personal experiences or answered prayer. Then I usually explain that there have been myriads of gods through history and when you realize why you don’t accept them as god, you will understand why I don’t accept your god. I once said this to a Christian lady and she was so taken aback she said “who said I don’t believe in the other gods.”Don’t think she realized what she said.

One that I get asked lots and for some reason only by Christians is where do I get morals from since all good morals come from god? I ask them what they mean by good morals and to name a few. Invariably they mention the 10 commandments like not to murder, don’t sleep around [yes, I have actually heard that], don’t steal, be honest, etc. Then I ask them if god was proven not to exist would they murder, steal, sleep around, lie, etc. they all say no they would still be good and moral. For some reason they seem unable to understand that means morals do not come from god.

One of my favorites is the question asking if atheism a religion? Unfortunately with the rise of the infamous 4 horsemen of Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris and Stenger with their new atheism and the bad image given to atheists as a militant bunch [because of a few outspoken antitheists], this isn’t as simple to answer as it should be. A short answer is no, atheism is not a religion and requires neither faith nor belief. on the other side, yes atheism can become a dogma for some but atheism is not a religion.

One I get asked maybe a little more than is atheism a religion is, you have to believe in something so why do you believe evolution instead of god. Evolution is science, the bible isn’t No, that isn’t the answer I give although at times it should be. First I say there is no requirement in life that one must believe in anything. I accept evolution as being true based on tons of scientific evidence, the predictions evolution has made and that it has never been falsified. i do not believe in evolution as you have a faith based belief in god. Even believing in god one can’t believe the creation in Genesis whether it is from Genesis 1 or Genesis 2 [weird how many Christians thank me for pointing that out and saying they never noticed that before] without denying fifteen fields of science such as geology, physics, chemistry, astronomy, etc.

One I hate but still get asked pretty often is as an atheist what is the meaning of life? Personally I don’t think there is a meaning to life any more than is given to it by our words and deeds. I also explain that we are made of star stuff. I usually have to explain that statement so I mention that our atoms are made in the stars and as the stars die, they spread the atoms that find their way into us. I also explain that those atoms are not destroyed when we die and they may find themselves in a future human 1000 years after our death or in a few million years they might find themselves as part of another plant giving life to another civilization. What god do I need to think that?

Usually the same person asks why does the universe exist? Only answer I give is that it does. There is no need to ask why and asking why is making an assumption that there must be a reason. What I do say if I am asked the closely related why is there something rather than nothing I answer that the reason is because something is more stable than nothing.

Usually I get asked how did life originate? All I can say is science is not sure yet but there are many hypothesis that propose explanations. Then I usually add that in my opinion, life was an inevitable outcome as soon as there was a big bang.  If they ask me to clarify I plug my blog and tell them to read the extremely educational Life And The Big Bang.

Usually I get asked, but not too often, how could millions [yes they say millions] of people be wrong when it comes to belief in God? Truth isn’t based on popularity. If it was we would still believe the Earth is flat or the sun is the center of the universe. It is a good thing truth isn’t based on popularity. Besides most religious belief is passed on through our parents and the society we live in. In no way does that speak for truth.

One I get asked but isn’t as popular as once was is were some of the worst atrocities in the 20th century committed by atheists? Some were committed by atheists yes but they were not committed because of atheistic beliefs they were committed because they held racist ideologies and radical political views. Usually I have to correct their mistakes and tell them Hitler professed to be a Christian and was not an atheist. Now turning to the inquisitions committed by the Church, that was done because of their beliefs.

I was asked once but only once what do I do when I have a problem since I don’t pray or do atheists pray. In a joking manner I told her yes we pray, it goes like this:

Dear Jesus, please save me from your followers.

Then I got serious and told her no, atheists do not pray but what we do is try to fix whatever problem we do have. If it is something we can’t control, we talk to friends and family and realize the situation will eventually change.

There you have it 10 of the most common questions I get asked with one bonus question thrown in.

[tweetmeme source=”noreligionblog” only_single=false https://noreligionblog.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/atheism/%5D

Share

One Response

  1. Asking whether atheism is a religion is like asking if darkness is just another color of light.

Leave a Reply

