• I have no need for religion, I have a conscience.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 38 other followers

  • Truth Saves
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Atheist Quotes

    I have something to say to the religionist who feels atheists never say anything positive: You are an intelligent human being. Your life is valuable for its own sake. You are not second-class in the universe, deriving meaning and purpose from some other mind. You are not inherently evil--you are inherently human, possessing the positive rational potential to help make this a world of morality, peace and joy. Trust yourself.
    Dan Barker

    He that will not reason is a bigot; he that cannot reason is a fool; he that dares not reason is a slave.
    William Drummond

    The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully.
    Richard Dawkins

  • Blog Visitors

    • 237,916 hits

Cherubim

Cherub: Kenny Hunter 1999

Cherub

I was doing some bible reading for an article I was going to write about hell [no, not the town in Michigan] later this evening and I accidentally stumbled across a verse that is absurd, amazing and at the same time disturbing.I am talking about 2 Samuel 22:7-11 which said about god

7 In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God: and he did hear my voice out of his temple, and my cry did enter into his ears. 8 Then the earth shook and trembled; the foundations of heaven moved and shook, because he was wroth. 9 There went up a smoke out of his nostrils, and fire out of his mouth devoured: coals were kindled by it. 10 He bowed the heavens also, and came down; and darkness was under his feet. 11 And he rode upon a cherub, and did fly: and he was seen upon the wings of the wind.

First thing I did when I stopped laughing at the mental image this gave me is wondered why an omnipresent god who is everywhere in space and time would need to ride angels to get anywhere. Couldn’t help myself but I started laughing again at the thought of god riding little baby angels as he was breathing fire like a dragon. Suddenly my laughter stopped when it dawned on me that I said baby angels. I figured it would be worthwhile to quickly look up what Cherubim are.

What better place to get a word defined than a dictionary? Since Cherubim is the plural of Cherub I looked that up.

cherub

• noun 1 (pl. cherubim or cherubs) a winged angelic being represented as a chubby child with wings. 2 (pl. cherubs) a beautiful or innocent-looking child.

Ok, not baby angels but represented as children. Still that is just as sick and pedophilic. That really is a bizarre image, god riding on a winged child? I suppose one can always say god can do whatever he wants but the story gets worse dear reader. I wondered if Cherubim are male or female not that either is less bizarre. Cherubim are often [not always] depicted as young girl angels which made me wonder, since they have wings on their back does god ride them face up or face down? That question alone would make me embarrassed to believe the bible is the word of god. Still it gets much worse if you can believe it. Cherubim in Jewish literature are depicted as either male or female. Now is god riding a boy child face up or face down? That not only shows pedophilia but sodomy as well which flies in the face of the infamous biblical injunction against homosexuality. Now is a good time to answer the objection I am most certainly going to hear that Putti are the ‘baby’ angels not Cherubim. That is correct, Cherubim generally refers to the biblical angels where the word Cherub is a reference to Putti which are indeed almost always depicted as male toddlers.

Anyone left reading want to tell me the bible is the word of god?

[tweetmeme source=”noreligionblog” only_single=falsehttps://noreligionblog.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/cherubim]

Share

2 Responses

  1. That is most bizarre passage I have ever heard. Thanks for pointing it out…I’ll never get the picture out of my head.

  2. Hello there!

    So after reading your article, I did a little research because, looking at the modern view of cherubs, you do have a good point!

    An article I found very helpful was this: http://insightsfromthebible.blogspot.com/2009/06/cherub-or-cupid.html

    Go ahead and check it out if you want to! By doing a little Bible research and looking through some encyclopedias I found that the Biblical view of the Cherubim is very different from the modern depiction of Cherubs! In this article it discusses that the modern picture is from the Roman god Cupid that was melded with the Biblical character of Cherubim to appease the Catholics and Romans in an attempt to bring peace between the two.

    As far as the “riding” concept, what I have found to make the most sense is this: it is obvious in the Bible that the Cherubim are the attendants of God; His servants. As such, they are bearers of His throne. So when He speaks of coming down, like many kings, perhaps He rides out carried on the shoulders of His attendants.

    I hope this helps! I agree with you that you do not need religion…religion leads to bondage, laws, condemnation, hypocrisy… However, this I know…that I do need this God that I am discovering more every day, because He has met me with more love and mercy than anyone I have known. I have began a relationship with Him, and it is because of this that I felt there must be more to the picture than what we could see when we looked at the Cherubim. Because the One I have begun to know does not fit in that picture; He may be powerful, but He is also the epitome of love. I have screwed up a lot, hurt a lot of people…but because of Him I have found love and freedom and…I’m a happy person again. I pray that all the reality of who He is is revealed to you. He cares just as much for you as He does for me. Thank you for your honest post, I love to analyze things as well. Keep being a seeker.

Leave a Reply

