• I have no need for religion, I have a conscience.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 39 other followers

  • Truth Saves
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Atheist Quotes

    I have something to say to the religionist who feels atheists never say anything positive: You are an intelligent human being. Your life is valuable for its own sake. You are not second-class in the universe, deriving meaning and purpose from some other mind. You are not inherently evil--you are inherently human, possessing the positive rational potential to help make this a world of morality, peace and joy. Trust yourself.
    Dan Barker

    He that will not reason is a bigot; he that cannot reason is a fool; he that dares not reason is a slave.
    William Drummond

    The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully.
    Richard Dawkins

  • Blog Visitors

    • 231,734 hits

Another Conversation

Sometimes I work weekends on an old job just to help out when they have a large order. Yesterday was one of those days and they had a really large order [the automotive industry is not doing as bad as people think]. Order was so large they gave me a few employees from a temporary service to help. While we mostly kept talking to a minimum I did overhear the three temps talking about Church and how all three knew one another. Since I was technically in charge of them I figured it wasn’t wise for me to get into a discussion about religion so I did the unusual, I bit my tongue and kept silent figuring to keep the peace and realizing that I probably would never see these guys again.In spite of their little talk, the work was getting done and it was getting done correctly so I was not going to complain although I know management at that company shuns talking since they think it distracts one from work yet they allow mp3 players as if they don’t cause distraction. After lunch the conversation again turned to religion and they were asking each other what Church they were going to visit on Sunday. Then what I was afraid of finally happened, they asked me. I told them I don’t go to Church nor do I believe in god but this isn’t a good subject for work so let’s drop it before it becomes heated [not by me but by them, only they would say differently]. They did drop it but one guy, apparently the Protestant of the group, eventually brought it back up and asked me how I could not believe in god or at least as a supreme creator. He even asked why anyone wouldn’t anyone want to believe in a supreme creator. I couldn’t hold back so I quickly decided to answer since work was going great and as long as it continued going smoothly I had no problem continuing the conversation. Being in charge gave me the confidence that if the subject turned heated I could easily stop it.

First thing I said was no evidence, there is as much evidence that there is a god as there is that I have an invisible pink unicorn locked up in my basement. Of course the Protestant who seemed to be a fundamentalist said god created everything in six days and the evidence is all around, just look. Here the other two guys, although Catholics, agreed with him. There was lots I could say and maybe I should have but I figured a light hearted ‘joke’ would be better since we were at work. I asked him if god created everything in six days and rested on the seventh did he get tired? The two Catholics laughed and one said maybe he did get tired to which I quickly said then he isn’t god is he? That was followed by silence but the fundamentalist got a little angry and snapped what is wrong with taking a break? I said nothing as long as his boss said it was ok. He then said perhaps a day was 1000 years. I was gonna go into a large tirade about how Genesis can only mean a literal 24 hour day considering Exodus 20:8-11 says

Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates: For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.

and I really don’t think god meant man should work for 6000 years before he had a day off. That and I figured it wasn’t worth it particularly after I  found out the fundamentalist was a pastors kid and was homeschooled as a child which means his science education was sorely lacking if not entirely absent.

Still asking me why I wouldn’t want to believe in a supreme creator considering everything around me I answered again that there is no scientific evidence to which he said, sure there is look around you. I said ok, what does the existence of the Earth, planets, sun, starts and atoms tell me. He and the two Catholics said that it was all created. I answered no, it says no such thing. It does say they exist but to read into that that it was created by god is more than the evidence says. They then asked where did I come from, I said my parents. As I could have guessed they asked where they came from and I said there parents. For some reason that wasn’t satisfactory to them so they asked where the ‘first’ grandparents came from. In my best Dawkins impersonation ala The Ancestors Tale I told them our 185 millionth great grandfather was  a lungfish [hehe, they expected me to mention we are related to apes so it was a curveball. Thanks Richard :)]. They asked how life began without god. I told them science isn’t positive but there are a few theories and then I gave them this address and told them to read my articles.

Of course they brought up the big bang or at least the Protestant did. He told me the big bang was invented by those who are in denial about god like I am [strangely I heard this exact argument last week]. I asked him if he knew who invented the big bang theory. He didn’t so I gleefully told him it was  Georges Lemaître, a Roman Catholic priest. I saw the two Catholic guys smile although they later expressed confusion as to why a priest came up with an ‘ungodly’ idea. The fundamentalist got mad that he was shown to be wrong and said Catholics deny god anyway. That got him a few sideways glances from the Catholics and even me. On the subject of the universe all three of them asked me why I can’t see god created the universe for humans as his special children. I didn’t want to get to scientific nor did I want to mention the extreme arrogance of that statement so I simply asked if we humans are god’s special creation then why is Earth the only place in our huge solar system that we can survive without life support? The two Catholics looked downwards but the fundamentalist still claimed I was in denial.

Going backwards to life and it’s evolution after it’s biogenesis, he asked can’t I see the human body’s perfect design? I had to suppress a laugh considering I just wrote an article about some of the unintelligent and totally illogical quirks of human anatomy. I told them if god designed the human body he needs to be fired for being an incompetent boob. I quickly summarized a few of the points in that article and my article about The Silent Genome but as I thought earlier it was useless against the fundamentalist since his science education was sorely lacking. The Catholics did understand somewhat and one of them has actually read my blog last night and emailed me about it. Guess that means I am doing something right.

The conversation pretty much ended as far as religion was concerned yet they continued to talk amongst themselves. I heard some very shocking things as far as the beliefs of the fundamentalist and once again I bit my tongue. I think the Catholic guy he was telling just nodded his head in agreement to avoid confrontation. Turns out that because of the fundamentalists lack of scientific knowledge, lack of critical thinking skills and an apparent abhorrence for ungodly logic and reason, he buys into almost every conspiracy theory know to man with the curios exception of flat Earth theory. I mean buying into pseudoscience [like free energy or homeopathy] is somewhat believable but belief in idiocy like 9/11 was an inside job, the NWO exists, 2012 is going to be the end of the world, the elite want to kill 80% of the human population and JFK was murdered by the government just to name a few…that is just insanity.

[tweetmeme source=”noreligionblog” only_single=false https://noreligionblog.wordpress.com/2010/03/14/another-conversation%5D

Share

3 Responses

  1. ” fundamentalists lack of scientific knowledge, lack of critical thinking skills and an apparent abhorrence for ungodly logic and reason,”

    Perfect description of the born agains I know. You can’t have a conversation with them, they only hear what they want to hear and spout the same ole’ rhetoric.

  2. I’m surprised you were able to go this deeply into the conversation without having your head explode.

  3. [I sincerely hope the irony comes through here, but…]

    So it sounds like the practice of homeschooling is a complete and absolute success!!!

Leave a Reply

