• I have no need for religion, I have a conscience.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 39 other followers

  • Truth Saves
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Atheist Quotes

    I have something to say to the religionist who feels atheists never say anything positive: You are an intelligent human being. Your life is valuable for its own sake. You are not second-class in the universe, deriving meaning and purpose from some other mind. You are not inherently evil--you are inherently human, possessing the positive rational potential to help make this a world of morality, peace and joy. Trust yourself.
    Dan Barker

    He that will not reason is a bigot; he that cannot reason is a fool; he that dares not reason is a slave.
    William Drummond

    The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully.
    Richard Dawkins

  • Blog Visitors

    • 231,734 hits

Nephilim

Something about the Nephilim in the bible never sat well with me. We are introduced to them in Genesis 6 and pretty much they were one of the reasons mentioned that god in 6:17 and again in 7:4 that he was going to destroy every living thing except what was on the ark. Besides a teeny thing called lack of evidence the story never made much sense to me.

I guess from a few of my previous articles, you guys know I am Jewish [besides being an atheist] and that I was a cantor in two different messianic congregations. One of my duties was to do the Torah reading and Parshat Shelach [Numbers 13-14:41] always bothered me somewhat. Why? Because in Numbers 13 we read about the group of spies Moses sent to Canaan. Why the spy story bothered me but not the genocides or incest made no sense but lets get on with the story. I never really knew why that story was so uncomfortable to me until today. I was doing some reading into what I think is a hilarious subject, flood geology, and when reading it for some reason I was only able to think about the giant grapes from Numbers 13:23. All of a sudden a lightbulb went off and I realized why Parshat Shelach was on my mind while reading about the flood. The Nephilim from Genesis that were destroyed in the flood were back in Numbers 13:33. Question is? When god said he was going to destroy every living thing besides those on the ark, did he lie? Were there Nephilim on the ark? Or more logically, is the entire bible a bunch of made up mythological stories?

[tweetmeme source=”noreligionblog” only_single=false https://noreligionblog.wordpress.com/2010/03/28/nephilim%5D

Share

Leave a Reply

